Morton H. Halperin

Chair, Executive Board, Center for Ethics and the Rule of Law (CERL) at the University of Pennsylvania*

Morton H. Halperin is a Senior Advisor to the Open Society Institute and the Open Society Policy Center.

Dr. Halperin served in the federal government in the Clinton, Nixon and Johnson administrations. Dr. Halperin has also been associated with a number of think tanks. He is co-Chair of the New America Foundation’s Nuclear Strategy Working Group. He was a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress from June 2003 to December 2009 and was a Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations from January 2001 to June 2003 and from March 1996 to December 1998. From July 1997 through December 1998, he was Senior Vice President of The Century Foundation/Twentieth Century Fund. From November 1992 to February 1994, Dr. Halperin was a Senior Associate of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

Dr. Halperin worked for many years for the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). He served as Director of the Center for National Security Studies from 1975 to 1992, focusing on issues affecting both civil liberties and national security, such as the proper role of intelligence agencies and government secrecy. From 1984 to 1992, he was also the Director of the Washington Office of the ACLU, with responsibility for the ACLU’s national legislative program as well as the activities of the ACLU Foundation based in the Washington Office.

Dr. Halperin was a MacArthur Foundation Fellow from 1985 to 1990 and is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Secretary of Defense Meritorious Civilian Service Medal, the Wilbur Cross Medal awarded by the Yale Graduate Alumni Association, the John Jay Award given by Columbia College, and the Public Service Award of the Federation of American Scientists.

*Also serves on the ONE Action Board.

More Members of the Board of Directors

Alexander Stubb

Director and Professor, School of Transnational Governance, European University Institute

Aliko Dangote

President/Chief Executive of the Dangote Industries LTD and Chairman of the Dangote Foundation

Bobby Shriver

Co-founder, ONE and (RED)


Lead singer, U2
Co-founder, ONE and (RED)

The Rt Hon David Cameron

Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom

Dr. Jackie Chimhanzi

Chief Executive Officer, African Leadership Institute

Sir Mo Ibrahim

Chairman, Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Gayle E. Smith

CEO of ONE *

Helene D. Gayle, M.D., MPH

President, Spelman College *

Jamie Drummond

Co-Founder, ONE & Founder, Sharing Strategies

Joe Cerrell

Managing Director, Global Policy & Advocacy, Europe, Middle East & East Asia, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

John Doerr

Chairman, Kleiner Perkins

Joshua Bolten

CEO, Business Roundtable *

Kelly Ayotte

Former United States Senator

Kevin Sheekey

Global Head of External Relations, Bloomberg LP

Lawrence H. Summers

Former Secretary of the Treasury of the United States

Mimi Alemayehou

Senior Vice President for Public-Private Partnerships, Mastercard Inc.

Sheryl Sandberg

Founder of Lean IN

Susan A. Buffett

Chair, The Sherwood Foundation and the Susan Thompson Buffett Foundation

Tom Freston

Board Chair, ONE, and Principal, Firefly3 *

* also serves on the ONE Action Board.