Li Xiaoyun

Chief Senior Advisor, International Poverty Reduction Center in China

Li Xiaoyun is Chief Senior Advisor at the International Poverty Reduction Centre in China, and Director of OECD/China-DAC Study Group. Xiaoyun is Chair of the Network of Southern Think Tanks (NeST), also Chair of China International Development Research network. He is a distinguished Professor and Founding Dean of College of Humanities and Development Studies, and Dean of School of Public and Policy Studies, Director of Research Centre for International Development at China Agricultural University.

Xiaoyun’s work covers development intervention, gender and development, poverty reduction, climate change, international development aid, China’s foreign aid, China and Africa, Africa’s agricultural development.

In 1987, Xiaoyun received a PhD. in agricultural sciences from Beijing Agricultural University (now China Agricultural University) and worked as a Policy Analyst in the Central Party Committee’s Research Department for Rural Development. In 1989, he was the Director of International Rural Development Center at Beijing Agricultural University. After 1990, Xiaoyun studied in Germany and the Netherlands for development studies, and continued his PhD research in development sociology in the Netherlands. He has been a senior expert for the World Bank, ADB, UN, and other bilateral agencies and international NGOs working in China, Africa, Asia and Latin America.

Xiaoyun is the advisor for many institutions, including standing trustee of Chinese Agriculture Economics Society, Deputy General Secretary of the China Women’s Studies Society, State Council for poverty reduction, and All Women’s Federation in China, One Africa Policy Advisory Board. He has received numerous awards for his work on poverty alleviation and development in China.

More Members of the Africa Policy Advisory Board

ChiChi Aniagolu-Okoye

Country Director, Girl Effect Nigeria

Melvin Ayogu

Adjunct Professor at the Graduate School of Business, University of Cape Town

Amadou Mahtar Ba

Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media, Inc

Owen Barder

Vice President, Center for Global Development

David Barnard

South African Development Expert

Erik Charas

Founding and Managing Director, Charas LDA

Romy Chevallier

Senior Researcher and Project Leader – Governance of Africa’s Resources, South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)

Jacqueline Chimhanzi

Chief Executive Officer, African Leadership Institute

Chose Choeu

Managing Director Corporate Affairs, Eskom

Paul Collier

Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Blavatnik School of Government

Mike Dada

President and Executive Producer, All Africa Music Awards

Nic Dawes

Deputy Executive Director for Media, Human Rights Watch

Zohra Dawood

Director, Centre for Unity in Diversity

Aidan Eyakuze

Executive Director, Twaweza East Africa

Eleni Z. Gabre-Madhin

Co-Founder and Chief Executive, Eleni LLC

Neville Gabriel

Chief Executive Officer, The Other Foundation

John Githongo

Chief Executive Officer, Inuka Kenya Trust

Chikwe Ihekweazu

Chief Executive Officer/ National Coordinator, Nigeria Centre for Disease Control

Angélique Kidjo

Three-time Grammy Award-winning Artist and Activist

Warren Krafchik

Director, International Budget Partnership (IBP)

Mpule Kwelagobe

Head, QuesS Capital’s Africa Investments

Acha Leke

Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company

Jon Lomøy

Director, Development Co-operation Directorate

Bunmi Makinwa

Chief Executive Officer, AUNIQUEI

Susan Mashibe

President and CEO, VIA Aviation Limited

Richard Mkandawire

Africa Director, Alliance for African Partnership Secretariat

Ruge Mutahaba

Director: Strategy and Programs Development, Clouds Media Group

Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane

Founder and President of African Monitor

Oluseun Onigbinde

Co-Founder and CEO, BudgIT

Arunma Oteh

Vice President and Treasurer, The World Bank

Irene Ovonji-Odida

Chief Executive Office, The Uganda Association of Women Lawyers (FIDA-Uganda)

Mandla Sibeko

Founder and Chairman, Seed Capital Ventures

John Ulanga

Country Director, TradeMark East Africa

Russell Wildeman

Social Policy Specialist, UNICEF South Africa

Lai Yahaya