Dr. Richard Mkandawire

Vice President of the African Fertilizer and Agribusiness Partnership (AFAP)

Professor Richard Mkandawire is a Socio-economist and a rural development expert. He is a graduate of the University of Malawi (Bachelor of Social Science), University of Missouri, Columbia USA (MA and MSc.), and the University of East Anglia, UK (PhD). Prof. Mkandawire has previously taught in the Universities of Malawi, Zambia, and in South Africa. He is currently Vice President of the African Fertilizer and Agribusiness Partnership. Before taking this position, he worked as a Senior Advisor to New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD), and leading the conceptualization and implementation of the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP). Professor Mkandawire is a member of the Malawi Presidential Advisory Committee on the Economy, and is a member of the National Development Council of Malawi. Prof. Mkandawire has received the following awards for his work in spearheading the CAADP agenda: awarded an ‘Honorary Doctorate’ in 2009 (DSc Honoris Causa University of KwaZulu- Natal), for rallying continental and global support towards agriculture in Africa and the ‘Drivers of Change’ award in 2008 for leadership in advocating and convincing African leaders and the international community that Africa can master the ability and political will to overcome hunger and poverty through CAADP. In recognition of his work in Agricultural Policy Development and Advocacy, Prof. Mkandawire was appointed by the University of Pretoria in 2012 as Extra- Ordinary Professor. Prof. Mkandawire has also previously worked with the Commonwealth Secretariat as the Commonwealth Youth Programme Regional Director for Africa. He has extensive experience in development initiatives in Southern Africa spanning a period of over two decades. He has researched and published extensively in the following areas: Agriculture and Food Policies in Southern Africa, Artisanal Fisheries Development, Land Tenure Systems and Agrarian Development, Gender and Development and the Youth and Reproductive Health among other areas.

More Members of the Africa Policy Advisory Board

Acha Leke

Director, McKinsey & Company

Amadou Mahtar Ba

Chief Executive Officer, African Media Initiative

Angélique Kidjo

Grammy Award-winning Artist and Activist

Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane

Founder and President of African Monitor

Arunma Oteh

Director General, Securities and Exchange Commission, Nigeria

Bunmi Makinwa

Director, Africa Regional Office, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Dr. Melvin Ayogu

Director, Human Enterprise Research Group

Dr. Xiaoyun Li

Chief Senior Advisor, International Poverty Reduction Center in China

Eleni Z. Gabre-Madhin

Chief Executive Officer, Ethiopia Commodity Exchange

Erik Charas

Founding and Managing Director, Charas LDA

John Githongo

CEO, Inuka Kenya Trust

John Ulanga

Executive Director, Foundation for Civil Society

Jon Lomoy

Director, Development Co-operation Directorate

Mandla Sibeko

Founder and Chairman, Seed Capital Investment

Neville Gabriel

Executive Director, Southern Africa Trust

Nic Dawes

Editor-in-chief, Mail & Guardian

Owen Barder

Visiting Fellow, Center for Global Development

Paul Collier

Director, Centre for the Study of African Economies, Oxford University

Romy Chevallier

Senior Researcher, Governance of Africa’s Resources, South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)

Russell Wildeman

Programme Manager of the Economic Governance Programme, IDASA

Susan Mashibe

Founder, Tanzanite Jet Centre

Warren Krafchik

Director, International Budget Partnership (IBP)

Zohra Dawood

Director, Zamyn Foundation-UK and Business Development Executive, Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra