Arunma Oteh

Director General, Securities and Exchange Commission, Nigeria

Arunma Oteh has been Director General of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) since January 2010. She was also elected Chairperson of the Africa Middle East Regional Committee of the International Organization of Securities Commissions in June 2010. Prior to her appointment to the SEC, she was Executive Vice President of the African Development Bank Group from 2006 to 2009 and Group Treasurer from 2001 to 2005. She also held other positions in treasury and lending from 1992 when she joined the bank. Before joining the African Development Bank, she worked in corporate finance, consulting, teaching and research for a number of institutions, including the Harvard Institute for International Development and Centre Point Investments Limited in Nigeria. Ms. Oteh is currently leading a transformation of the Nigerian Capital Markets to enable Nigeria to realize its economic potential and is a member of the Nigerian Economic Management Team. She also serves on the board of a number of organizations, including the Pension Commission Nigeria, Asset Management Company of Nigeria, Advisory Board of the Africa Investor, and International Financing Facility of Immunization, a charity organization set up by governments to fast track immunization, a critical vehicle for achieving the MDGs. Ms. Oteh holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration from Harvard Business School and a first class honors degree in Computer Science from University of Nigeria, Nsukka. She is the co-editor of the book, ”African Voices African Visions.”

More Members of the Africa Policy Advisory Board

Acha Leke

Director, McKinsey & Company

Amadou Mahtar Ba

Chief Executive Officer, African Media Initiative

Angélique Kidjo

Grammy Award-winning Artist and Activist

Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane

Founder and President of African Monitor

Bunmi Makinwa

Director, Africa Regional Office, United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Dr. Melvin Ayogu

Director, Human Enterprise Research Group

Dr. Richard Mkandawire

Vice President of the African Fertilizer and Agribusiness Partnership (AFAP)

Dr. Xiaoyun Li

Chief Senior Advisor, International Poverty Reduction Center in China

Eleni Z. Gabre-Madhin

Chief Executive Officer, Ethiopia Commodity Exchange

Erik Charas

Founding and Managing Director, Charas LDA

John Githongo

CEO, Inuka Kenya Trust

John Ulanga

Executive Director, Foundation for Civil Society

Jon Lomoy

Director, Development Co-operation Directorate

Mandla Sibeko

Founder and Chairman, Seed Capital Investment

Neville Gabriel

Executive Director, Southern Africa Trust

Nic Dawes

Editor-in-chief, Mail & Guardian

Owen Barder

Visiting Fellow, Center for Global Development

Paul Collier

Director, Centre for the Study of African Economies, Oxford University

Romy Chevallier

Senior Researcher, Governance of Africa’s Resources, South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA)

Russell Wildeman

Programme Manager of the Economic Governance Programme, IDASA

Susan Mashibe

Founder, Tanzanite Jet Centre

Warren Krafchik

Director, International Budget Partnership (IBP)

Zohra Dawood

Director, Zamyn Foundation-UK and Business Development Executive, Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra