ONE and (RED) are funded by a combination of foundations, individual philanthropists and corporations. We do not solicit funds from the general public or receive government funding. Below is a list of our financial supporters who have contributed at least $25,000 annually to our work since January 2017. Some of our donors have asked for confidentiality and we respect this request. Funding from anonymous donors amounts to less than 1% of our total grants and contributions.
ONE is especially grateful for the long-time partnership with and major support from our friends at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation for our 501(c)3 operations.
  • Alex and Ani
  • America Movil
  • Anonymous Fund of MCF
  • Bank of America
  • Cindy and Ryan Beedie
  • Lynne and Marc Benioff
  • Bloomberg Philanthropies
  • Bono
  • Lauran and Myrna Bromley
  • The Bromley Foundation
  • Caterpillar Foundation
  • Columbus Foundation
  • Dangote Foundation
  • Ann and John Doerr
  • Tom Freston
  • Fund for Policy Reform
  • Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • The David Geffen Foundation
  • Google
  • William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Iger Bay Foundation
  • Marilyn and Jeffrey Katzenberg
  • Mark and Mary Ann Kaufman Foundation
  • Robert Kraft, New England Patriots Foundation
  • George Lucas Family Foundation
  • Paddy McKillen
  • New Venture Fund
  • Denis O’Brien
  • Ronald O. Perelman
  • Sherwood Foundation
  • Sheryl Sandberg
  • Skoll Foundation
  • Trott Family Foundation

Board Of Directors

ONE’s Board of Directors includes individuals with extensive experience in advocacy and activism, policy, politics and business. The board oversees ONE’s work and helps to ensure we are making progress against our mission.
  • Kelly Ayotte
    Former United States Senator
  • Joshua Bolten
    President & CEO, Business Roundtable
  • Bono
    Lead singer, U2
    Co-founder, ONE and (RED)
  • Susan A. Buffett
    Chairwoman, The Sherwood Foundation and the Susan Thompson Buffett Foundation
  • David Cameron
    Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Joe Cerrell*
    Managing Director, Global Policy & Advocacy, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Aliko Dangote
    President/Chief Executive of the Dangote Group and Chairman of the Dangote Foundation
  • John Doerr
    Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
  • Jamie Drummond
    Co-Founder & Executive Director, Global Strategy, ONE
  • Tom Freston
    Chairman of the Board, ONE
    Principal, Firefly3
  • Helene D. Gayle
    President and CEO of The Chicago Community Trust
  • Morton H. Halperin
    Senior Advisor, Open Society Foundations
  • Dr. Mo Ibrahim
    Chairman, Mo Ibrahim Foundation
  • Ronald O. Perelman
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, MacAndrews & Forbes Holdings Inc.
  • Sheryl Sandberg
    Chief Operating Officer, Facebook
  • Kevin Sheekey
    Global Head of Government Relations and Communications, Bloomberg L.P. Chairman, Bloomberg Government
  • Bobby Shriver
    Co-founder, ONE & (RED)
  • Gayle E. Smith
    President and CEO, ONE
  • Michele L. Sullivan*
    Director of Corporate Social Innovation, Caterpillar and President of the Caterpillar Foundation
  • Lawrence Summers
    Former Secretary of the Treasury of the United States
  • Mark Suzman*
    Chief Strategy Officer and President, Global Policy & Advocacy Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

*Serves on The ONE Campaign Board only and not on the ONE Action Board

african policy advisory board

ONE’s Africa Policy Advisory Board is a regular forum for many of ONE’s friends and advisors to come together to discuss the pressing issues facing the continent, and play a key role in informing ONE’s work in Africa and globally.
  • Acha Leke
    Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company
  • Aidan Eyakuze
    Executive Director, Twaweza East Africa
  • Amadou Mahtar Ba
    Co-Founder and Executive Chairman, AllAfrica Global Media, Inc
  • Angelique Kidjo
    Grammy Award-winning Artist and Activist
  • Archbishop Njongonkulu Ndungane
    Founder and President of African Monitor
  • Arunma Oteh
    Vice President and Treasurer, The World Bank
  • Bunmi Makinwa
    Chief Executive Officer, AUNIQUEI
  • Catherine Chichi Okoye
    Country Director, Girl Effect Nigeria
  • Chose Choeu
    Divisional Executive Corporate Affairs, Eskom
  • David Barnard
    South African Development Expert
  • Dr. Chikwe Ihekweazu
    Chief Executive Officer, Nigeria Centre for Disease Control
  • Dr. Richard Mkandawire
    Vice President, African Fertilizer and Agribusiness Partnership (AFAP)
  • Eleni Z. Gabre-Madhin
    Co-founder and Chief Executive, Eleni LLC
  • Erik Charas
    Founding and Managing Director, Charas LDA
  • Irene Ovonji-Odida
    Chief Executive Office, The Uganda Association of Women Lawyers (FIDA-Uganda)
  • Jacqueline Chimhanzi
    Chief Executive Officer, African Leadership Institute
  • John Githongo
    Chief Executive Officer, Inuka Kenya Trust
  • John Ulanga
    Country Director, TradeMark East Africa
  • Jon Lomøy
    Director, Development Co-operation Directorate
  • Lai Yahaya
    Senior Special Assistant to President Buhari of Nigeria, with responsibility for Policy and Strategy
  • Dr. Li Xiaoyun
    Chief Senior Advisor, International Poverty Reduction Center in China
  • Mandla Sibeko
    Founder and Chairman, Seed Capital Ventures
  • Melvin Ayogu
    Visiting Professor, American University of Sharjah, UAE
  • Mike Dada
    President and Executive Producer, All Africa Music Awards
  • Mpule Kwelagobe
    Head, QuesS Capital’s Africa Investments
  • Neville Gabriel
    Chief Executive Officer, The Other Foundation
  • Nic Dawes
    Deputy Executive Director for Media, Human Rights Watch
  • Oluseun Onigbinde
    Co-Founder and CEO, BudgIT