ONE Africa Award 2011 live webcast

ONE Africa Award
Throughout Africa, there is amazing progress by civil society focused on ending extreme poverty and fostering socio-economic empowerment. These new ideas and exciting approaches are designed and implemented by Africans who understand the complexities of bringing about change and transforming lives in their communities. The ONE Africa Award applauds the progress of these unsung heroes and organizations and looks forward to solutions for the challenges ahead.

This year’s award will recognize the Africa-driven, Africa-led advocacy efforts that have demonstrated success at a community, national or regional level.

When applications closed in September, we had received more than 150 applications, which have been reduced down to the following five finalists:

Prévention Information Lutte contre le Sida

Groupe de réflexion et d’action Femme, Démocratie et Développement

Alliance for Reproductive Health Rights

Sylva Food Solutions

Africa Youth Trust

The 2011 ONE Africa Award winner will be announced tomorrow, December 14 and you can watch the announcement live here on ONE.org.

The event will be broadcast at 17:00 South Africa time (16:00 CET, 15:00 GMT/UTC, 10:00 EST, 07:00 PST).

Watch the ceremony here (Windows Media Format):

Watch the ceremony

Or if you are using a Mac click here to watch the webcast in QuickTime format.

By honoring the commitment and progress on the ground, we hope new efforts can be inspired.

We wish all the finalists good luck!

Follow the Twitter conversation during the webcast tomorrow by following @ONEinAfrica and using the hashtag #AfricaAward.